One by One

Albert Einstein says, “It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.” I’ve always been drawn to helping people who need it, and growing up I was told that I could do or be anything that I wanted to be, unlike some that are told what they have to go to school for in college. It is difficult to know what you want to do at eighteen when you graduate for high school but here we are where this journey begins, during my junior year of high school…

My junior year of high school I was ecstatic to be elected the new junior class secretary. As one of our requirements for my newly elected position, I had to log 25 volunteer hours throughout the course of the semester. We were allowed to choose where we volunteered and I chose my former elementary school. Once a week I would arrive at McSorley Elementary and would pull the 4th grade kids out of Ms. Mac’s classroom, one at a time, to help them gain more confidence while they were reading. Sitting in the cold sterile workroom with tile floor teachers and students tromp through my teaching area.  My heart broke for the kids who were not meeting the state standards in reading. I would ask the students if they read at home with mom and dad and most of them responded the same way, “No”. I could not bring myself to understand why their mom’s and dad’s did not care enough to sit down with them to work on their reading skills.

My junior year I made it my mission to help the kids who were not meeting state standards. From then on, I knew that I wanted to become a teacher so that I could make sure every kid was getting the attention that they deserved in the classroom. I want to make a difference in the lives of the kids who could be running the world when I am old. I want to aid in the classroom and be a part of the journey that these kids are just beginning, a journey that will take them through the next twelve years of their lives. 

Leave a Reply

